Les Dames

The plate loaded T-row machine had apparently suffered some insult. They affix these things to the gym floor, through the mats, with substantial hex bolts, but all hardware fatigues at a certain point. When you hauled up on the crossbow-shaped plate arm, the whole thing rocked a half inch this way and that, just enough for an instability goose to the exercise. This can actually improve your training effect. Nonetheless I checked in with the management, who averred that they knew about the problem and had put it on the repair list and told me to be careful.

Uh huh. I went back and threw another ten pound plate on the load arm, only to be hailed by a large gentleman in a do-rag, with meaty, glossy, chestnut-colored arms emerging from a torn singlet. “Watch out, that thing ain’t level,” he warned.

I already had a 2.5 pound plate in hand. I have never had the slightest goddam idea what anyone would want with a 2.5 pound plate, but the slender part of its bevel slid seamlessly under the upbucked foot of the T-row apparatus, the perfect shim.

“Leave it to a woman!” cheered Do-Rag. “Fixed it!”

“Well hell I am always leveling furniture not to mention my commode,” I said, and cranked out a set.

“Leave it to the ladies!” he shouted again, and went off to do something dangerous, probably of an age to be my son had I ever been interested in such undertakings.

Gender politics in the gym probably isn’t the hill to die on. Besides, I have to say women are kinda extra practical. We gotta be.

Going into 2017 that kind of cheers me.

 

One thought on “Les Dames

  1. I’m on the fence…’woman’ is okay but ‘lady’ always puts my hackles up.
    There is an overly jocular courier who comes in now and again, and shouted something along the lines of, ‘Happy New Year to the lovely ladies!’ because one of the office women happened to be bringing out some parcels and we threw all walked past each other at the same time.
    I didn’t give out, like I normally do (he says some shit about ladies when he sees me and I retort, ‘if you can find one’) because my office friend couldn’t take him, if he got stroppy with us both!
    And yes, we do have to be practical- everyone should be. I’d call it that everyone else was lazy as hell.

Leave a Reply

