And Now For This Word From Our Sponsor

The local classical station, to which I listen pretty much 24/7 (yes, it is often running softly when I am asleep) has several long-term high-dollar patrons: “The music here today is made possible by you, our listeners, and by [some business interest or foundation which gets ten seconds’ worth of PR for its trouble].”

Yesterday, as I was pulling into a strip-mall parking lot, one of these recurring shirttails was the last utterance before I turned off the ignition: “…and by the law firm of Harness Dickey and Pierce.”

Why, thought I, have I never noticed before that that sounds like a particularly flinch-worthy BDSM fetish?

Okay, is it just me? Am I depraved? Or did I listen to too many Car Talk programs citing the legal advice of Dewey Cheatham and Howe?

8 thoughts on “And Now For This Word From Our Sponsor

Leave a Reply

