Grumpy

Does anyone else hate those plaques (and bracelets and tee shirts and door mats) that say “LIVE  * LOVE * LAUGH”?? I mean, is it just me?

You know how the latest feminist outrage (and I was calling myself a feminist before it was a thing, but I do get tired of the Outrage Of The Week) is men telling women to smile? Well I guess I get it because I hate that motto, which has ambushed me repeatedly of late. Don’t tell me to love when I’ve just encountered six things I hate. (Say a loose dog, a rude driver, a toddler, Latino music played too loud on someone’s car radio, a “pro-life” bumper sticker, a door to door salesman.) Don’t tell me to laugh when I am less amused than Queen Victoria.  Don’t even tell me to live. I might hold my breath just to spite you.

Admonitions to cheer and wholesomeness are like being bludgeoned about the head and shoulders by someone explaining that the beatings will continue until morale improves.

It makes me feel like this guy.

click for explanation

click for explanation

 

6 thoughts on “Grumpy

  1. Didn’t we go through this in the 70s with smiley faces and “have a great day” coffee mugs? I haven’t seen those t-shirts but my response would be something like ‘bugger off.”

  2. I just watched a video of a woman walking 10 hours in Manhattan – and yeah, ‘smile baby’ was a frequent comment. I’m kind of lucky in that my resting face looks a bit smily, and I have to be really pissed off before people realise it. Oddly enough if I am smiling to myself, people ask me what is so damn funny. I must look like a maniac.

Leave a Reply

