Meowy Birthday

I see here where Hello Kitty, the mouthless Japanese cat who has sold a (hundred) thousand handbags, turns forty this year. This means I was nearly old enough to drink in any state in the Union before she was invented. Yike.

In honor of this milestone, I invite readers to enjoy some of the Psychological Tests purveyed by Sanrio on the Hello Kitty website (yeah, I figured out a backdoor method of getting to these without subscribing, so let’s hope the links hold up).

Which Type Of Artist Are You?

What Do Other People Think Of You?

Which Historical Icon Matches Your Personality?

I always get Sigmund Freud on that last one. Curious. Supposedly I see deep into people. I am interested in mysterious forces so I should use my talent to help others. I’m really fondest of the work of Freudian heretic Carl Jung, but I also always said I’d rather dine with Freud, who understood the value of coffeehouse klatsch and a good wine too. Jung was the man for ambiguous symbols though. The Dear knows what he would have made of Hello Kitty.

11 thoughts on “Meowy Birthday

  1. I didn’t know Hello Kitty had been around for so long. Frighteningly, those tests were reasonably accurate. However, my icon is Li Shizen, who I’d never heard of and was a pioneer in medicine and science so that’s way off!

    • Really I’m a tea person, but when you say “tea house” everyone pictures some bamboo place in an isolated garden.

      Snow’s almost gone but it is once again as cold as a dead Eskimo’s appendages.

  2. Poop. None of the links work on the iPad.

    I’m 42, and HK was never a thing in my childhood. I think it was because most of it was taken up with fear of Russians bombing us, and then of the Japanese buying up all of America. Now I suppose the Russians are buying up America and the Japanese have moved on to a more lucrative market.

      • I always get a kick out of the ones that ask me about what friend I would “hang out” with or shop for clothes with. I’m not 100% sure I evenn remember that kind of existence as a teenager.

        • Things have changed, you know. Now they get free money from their parents, so they don’t notice their parents aren’t taking care of them. Teens are now being marketed at, because they are an important portion of their customers, despite being less present on the work place then they were a few decades ago.

Leave a Reply

