The Drunkard In Spring

Right at 2:34: der Lenz ist da, sei kommen uber nacht.

“If Life is a dream, why all this work and worry? I drink all day, till I can drink no more! Then I roll home and sleep. When I wake, a bird is singing, and I ask him if Spring has come. Yes! he replies, it came last night, and he sings and laughs, and I listen in wonder. And I fill my cup and drain it, and sing till the moon fills the night sky, and fall asleep again. What’s the Spring to me? Just let me be drunk!”

I’m with the bird, myself. It’s a day warm enough for a beer but I don’t want to miss any of it.

2 thoughts on “The Drunkard In Spring

Leave a Reply

