Manual Evaluation

Well, damn. This is actually the first time one of these things ever seemed to get me right. (Hey, it was a quiz about hands; I make my living with mine.)

You are logical, analytical, and rational. You have good verbal skills.

Idealistic and dreamy, you tend toward the impractical. You have a knack for getting yourself in sticky situations.

Brainy and intelligent, you are intellectual to the point of being incomprehensible.

Your emotions tend to be nervous and potent. Your energy – both positive and negative – deeply impacts your life.

“Intellectual to the point of being incomprehensible” might be stretching it a bit, but I used to write a weekly opinion piece for a local paper and every week the copy editor — a guy who had retired from one of the big national dailies and liked to keep in the game — would slope over to my editor’s desk and demand to see my column. He would always dredge out some arcane word or expression that I would have to go to the mat to keep. After my original editor left, his post was taken over by a blooming idiot who fainted at the sight of a dependent clause and absolutely refused to run a piece in which I referred to two tow trucks as “addorsed,” unless I rephrased myself.

It’s from heraldry; back to back (as some beasts are represented on coats of arms), you know, dorsal, like a fin, a couple of trucks pulled up on a beach (as it happened; long story) and facing away from one another. I thought it was perfectly transparent.

I see I should have just told her to talk to the hand.

What Do Your Hands Say About You?

14 thoughts on “Manual Evaluation

  1. My Hands Say That I Am Logical
    You are logical, analytical, and rational. You have good verbal skills.
    Bold and daring, you’re not afraid to change your life if you think it needs an overhaul.
    Consistent and reliable, you like to count on structure and routine in your life.
    Your emotions tend to be nervous and potent. Your energy – both positive and negative – deeply impacts your life.

  2. I’m the same as you, except that I got “flexible and broad-minded” instead of “dreamy and idealistic.” All I really care about is that a palm reader once told me I would be financially secure until the age of 67, and after that, he couldn’t see anything. I’ve always taken this to mean that I’ll die at the age of 67. That seems workable to me.

  3. I’m fairly boring:

    You are artistic, intuitive, and inspired. You have good people skills.

    Flexible and broad minded, you can fit in to any situation. There’s no telling where your life will take you.

    Consistent and reliable, you like to count on structure and routine in your life.

    Your emotions tend to be relaxed and uncomplicated. You don’t read too much into things.

    But I know what you mean about people who can’t tolerate arcane words. I once had a boss physically abuse me because I used a word he didn’t understand in a meeting. While doing it he said, “Don’t ever use a word I don’t know again.” I wasn’t very happy so I responded , “I can’t be expected to know the extent of your ignorance.” Needless to say things went from bad to worse.

    • Physically?. Yike. At least the Dumb Bitch at the local Journal only acted assholesque at a distance. But I wish I’d said that when she told me essentially the same thing.

  4. You are artistic, intuitive, and inspired. (yes) You have good people skills. no, erm, maybe

    Flexible and broad minded, you can fit in to any situation. There’s no telling where your life will take you.(yes)

    Consistent and reliable, you like to count on structure and routine in your life. no

    Your emotions tend to be nervous and potent. Your energy – both positive and negative – deeply impacts your life.(yes)

    These sound like the sorts of cleverly vague things people like to hear about themselves. I’m taking the stand that it’s absolute bollix. This is because from the data taken, they have no way to know. It is instinctive for people to believe in magic (look at the popularity of religion), so we accept this. I fight against the urge and see this as akin to one of those TV shows where the technical wizard “enhances” a blurry image to retrieve information that simply was never there.

  5. Logical.

    You are logical, analytical, and rational. You have good verbal skills.

    Flexible and broad minded, you can fit in to any situation. There’s no telling where your life will take you.

    Consistent and reliable, you like to count on structure and routine in your life.

    Your emotions tend to be nervous and potent. Your energy – both positive and negative – deeply impacts your life.

    Good one! Shall swipe it for tomorrow’s blog post…

  6. Pingback: what do your hands say about you? « casa az

  7. Pingback: What Do Your Hands Say About You? « Ærchies Archive – Digital Detritus

Leave a Reply

