Light Of Other Days

This movement of Shostakovich’s second piano concerto is one of the tracks on a potpourri CD I use in my massage studio. Somehow, it always takes me back to the late blue of a winter twilight some time in my past, or possibly in the past of the world. Some things seem so old and so close to the core of existence that you start believing mightily in Jung’s phylogenetic memory.

If I ever disappear into thin air in the middle of a session (screw the Rapture), it’ll be during this track.

11 thoughts on “Light Of Other Days

  1. That’s lovely. I have a similar experience with one little piece in Vivaldi-and I am sure of a specific place in time.
    I do guided imagery with a local therapist, we use the Bonny method, it’s given me an amazing connection to music. With certain types I am led in different directions, pretty cool.

    • I had to Google “Bonny method.” I always kind of get the creeps when people try to trademark and orchestrate (forgive pun) experiences like this, but I am glad it’s fruitful for you.

      • Well, I think it’s a matter of assuring paying clients that their craft involves some training and consistency. I understand what you’re saying but I think if a licensed therapist is going to undertake something like guided imagery she probably needs the protection from liability by being ‘trained’. This woman wouldn’t really need it, based on my experience of her and I could care less about the label, she’s really good and I have a long experience of working with her in coaching, guided imagery, etc. so I absolutely true that she is in tune with me.

  2. Incredible delicacy while at the same time dense and intricate. The ongoing texture and tension created by the constant repetition of the 3 against 2 rhythms are what fuel the mind wandering aspects of this work, I think. Deceptively simple to hear, fiendishly difficult to perform. . .

    • Three-against-two motifs do have an amazing suspensory quality.

      This is one, completely unlike the Shostakovich, that I used to *try* to play (the piano part, in my father’s music room). Headlong rather than reflective, but that same feeling that something, in Joyce’s phrase, is “about to rollywhollyover.”

      I am told that in the last years of my dad’s life he got to visit with Baumann, the performer in this clip, who was touring in his part of the US. It must have been a rip. My father was fascinated by the natural horn and when I still knew him had a hobby of buying old crap French horns and de-valving them, and I remember the kind of faint, nasal, and distant sounds you hear in parts of this performance, drifting up from the basement…

  3. I love that you and David have introduced me to so many beautiful pieces of music through your blogs. Those last few bars made me think of a person dropping off to sleep, eyelids fluttering ever more slowly as they drift off… lovely.

  4. I had prepared a long comment for this post but then I lost it. Now that my dog is coughing day and night I cannot rewrite it. Excellent music. I had never heard Shostakovich’s piano concertos before. Going to get them.

Leave a Reply

