Bogfish In Space

Over at Man Of Roma I commented, probably at too much length, on a post about the possible future of America’s cultural footprint in the world, both low and high brow. MoR’s displays a gratifying warmth toward many things American, but a passing mention that he was no fan of Star Trek coincided oddly with my receipt of the video below in another conversation altogether.

I posted a short defense of the things I felt Star Trek had done right — profiling women and nonwhites as competent leaders, beguiling young people with its admittedly potted science into careers as engineers and physicists. But this is one space-flight issue the series never did address.

One thinks, almost, of alchemy — light and splendor from the putrefactio. Somewhere there is a modern Yeats or Donne whose metaphor awaits.

7 thoughts on “Bogfish In Space

  1. You’re an awful tease. Or do I really have to watch a video? I could guess but my first guesses are, I dunno, let’s say sophomoric.

    Star Trek was helpful but I really got into engineering because I wasn’t comfortable thinking radios worked by magic. My dad, of course, became a scientist because when he was thirteen he made some nitroglycerin and there was just no going back after that.

    • It’s short, intelligently spoken and informative. I was going to delete it myself when my friend sent it, and then saw that it was some kind of lecture excerpt and took a flyer on it.

  2. I have replied to your Star Trek comment. I’ll paste it here for your readers.

    This is probably the time …to confess that I actually like Star Trek. The whole convention thing is a little ridiculous, but I loved science fiction as a kid … The series actually excited the imaginations of many of today’s good scientists.

    Science fiction stimulates future scientists, it is clear. I remember the SciFi novel series Urania published in Italian by Mondadori when I was a teenager, with the splendid book covers by Kurt Caesar & Karel Thole. I totally got into 50s and 60s American classics like A. E. Van Vogt, Murray Leinster, Poul Anderson, Isaac Asimov, Philip K. Dick, Robert A. Heinlein, Clifford Simak, Arthur C. Clarke etc. I just LOVED them.

    It’s not Star Trek, it’s the conventions and especially that fact that people take them too seriously.”

    • I think the first book I ever checked out of the local library was a kids’ interplanetary travel story by Lester Del Rey. Warped for life! Refused to leave that section of the library for years!

      Convention people span the gamut from future creators to… well, to the people that take them too seriously. I always thought this movie was the best ever comment on the matter.

  3. I like the fact that the first set of astronauts went into space wearing diapers. I learned this when that astronaut stalker woman got caught. She had on diapers for her non-stop trek from Texas to Florida.

Leave a Reply

