Bach’s Birthday

I almost let March 21 go by without mentioning this Baroque landmark.

My local radio station is airing the Mass in B Minor, starting in a few minutes. Because I am depraved, my mind flashed to a limerick beloved of my hornplayer father. I always thought of it as part of my dowry, since it was one of the few limericks that were new to my late and ex husband.

There was a young fellow from Sparta
Who was a phenomenal farter.
He could fart anything
From “God Save The King
To Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata.

He would fart a gavotte for a starter,
Then the D-Minor Fugue and Toccata.
Then boom from his ass
Bach’s B Minor Mass
And arias from “La Traviata.”

4 thoughts on “Bach’s Birthday

  1. That gavotte is on one of my favorite YouTube stations. That station was one of your allies who helped me appreciate Baroque Opera actually.

Leave a Reply

